White-Meyer House

Our Campus

White-Meyer House

Designed by John Russell Pope; home to two prestigious Washington families.

The house

The Cafritz Galleries

The house’s beautifully proportioned public rooms were refurbished under a generous grant from The Morris and Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation. Known as the Cafritz Galleries, they host Meridian’s exhibitions and convenings.

The garden plaza preserves much of the original garden — many of the yews, magnolias, witch hazels and weeping hemlocks were planted when the house was built.

The Cafritz Galleries

White-Meyer House history

Two families, one landmark

White-Meyer House, at 1624 Crescent Place, has been home to two prestigious Washington families. The property was purchased in 1910 by distinguished American diplomat Henry White.

During the Whites’ tenure, the house was the scene of many significant social and historical events — notable guests included Georges Clemenceau, Robert Cecil, and Henry Cabot Lodge. When Henry White died in 1927, the property passed to his son, John Campbell White. Eugene Meyer, who subsequently became owner of The Washington Post, rented and later owned the house.

After the Meyers’ deaths, the house became the property of the Eugene and Agnes E. Meyer Foundation and was leased for use by the Antioch Law School Library before joining the Meridian campus in 1987.

White-Meyer House is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The grounds and first floors are open to the general public by appointment.

Experience the house

Exhibitions, convenings, and events

The Cafritz Galleries host Meridian programming year-round — and the house is available for private events.